Beauty From the Margins: Drawings by “Stan”: A Series Called “The Airport”

The following is the story “Stan” told me the other day through words and pictures. This is the third installment in this series. The first piece explains the thoughts behind what I am doing. The second entitled “Weather” is a detailed account of various weather patterns and related things.

I am beyond thankful for his gifts as they expose the beauty he has within. All of us have stories we long to tell, stories that make up who we are. Some are better at writing them, while others tell them. For Stan, he draws them. For a young boy who cannot always find words, his drawings embody and manifest what it is we cannot see. They bring to life through color and line what he cares about most. Hence, the reason why his brother (or as he would say, “brudder”) is a recurring character in his drawings.

It always brings a smile to my face when I see adults who haven’t been around him see his artwork for the first time. Amazement, awe, and dropped jaws are common reactions. I’m not sure if it is disbelief, dumbfoundedness, or inspiration, but whatever the case may be, I am beginning to believe that for many his drawings are an avenue of seeing a light within a boy many either write off or have doubts about.

And that is what this series is about: letting his light shine.

I’ve tried my best to recount the words he told me that accompany the drawings below. I hope you will find beauty and love as Stan’s light continues to grow and shine.

People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.  – Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

 

“First my brother and I go through the X-ray machine…DSC00829

Then the woman brings out the big seatbelt because the seats don’t have seatbelts, right?…DSC00830

Then the pilot makes sure everything is turned on…DSC00828

Then we fly over the mountains.”

DSC00827

Leave a Reply

