“The parish preacher must speak whether he is inspired or not.”

This page is taken from Reinhold Niebuhr’s small book Leaves from the Notebook of a Tamed Cynic.  It was written in 1915, not too long after Niebuhr finished seminary and entered into a pastoral job. I suggest it as a great read on seeing how a pastor and intellectual dealt with the changing dominant culture simultaneously with the church culture.

I was re-reading portions of this book the other day and ran across this section. As a young seminary grad who preaches quite often, I find myself resonating with what he says. I don’t want to add or subtract with commentary on it; rather just post this as something I find interesting.

Any thoughts on his statement?

Leave a Reply

