Love is the best apologetic

My dad and I went to an apologetics conference this past October. It was in Rhode Island and featured some of the more prominent apologists in North America. Names like Chuck, Ravi, and Os headlined the event. Overall, it was great, at least spending time with my dad at something we both enjoy. The content of the conference was introductory but was a good reminder of some necessary info.

I’ve noticed since then that I’ve had to use bits and pieces of what was discussed over the weekend. Yet, I’ve had some apprehensions about the methodology employed by some of those presenting things. Here’s why:

I don’t know how many conversations I’ve had with people pushing away from religious people, and as a by-product, God. Even more specifically, Christians who have been downright awful and unloving towards others. What is wrong with Christians? Seriously. Some of the stuff I’ve heard recently is unbelievable. I’m the first to say that Christians aren’t perfect and shouldn’t be considered as such, but I’m am completely done with Christians who think they are allowed to do whatever  they want and hurt others. Perhaps they have truth but they have no love.

Christians by name are “little Christs.” Do we show it? I know most people believe they are Christians because they have the right beliefs, but do we act like Jesus? For too long evangelical, Protestant churches have overemphasized the proper beliefs at the core of Christianity over the love of Jesus. If one has the correct doctrinal affirmation, then they are fine. Yet, where are the Christian actions embodying our beliefs?

Where is the reaching out for the sake of reaching out? Where is the question about someone’s absence? Where is the meal after being in the hospital? Where is the love in action?!

“A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, even as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all men will know you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.”– John 13:34-35

The natural question that follows then has to be, “Are we his disciples?”

2 thoughts on “Love is the best apologetic

Leave a Reply

